Skip to content

Protein shake before or after?

October 28, 2008

Sometimes people ask me what’s better, protein before or after? I tend to think it depends. That’s the straight answer you were looking for, right? Hehe. Anyway, I think if you’re going for fat loss, then after is better because your body needs to break down muscle tissue to get the nutrients it needs to complete your lifts. And then of course it has to build it back up again afterward with the extra protein from the yummy protein shake. But I think if you’re going for strength, then taking it before (or even before and after) is better. If you want gigantic muscles, then take some creatine.

So there’s my unscientific unfounded opinion. On to more mundane things…

After getting home from work, my husband and I went for a one mile walk (okay, closer to a mile and and a quarter). Then I got down to business…

Workout B is completed for today. It was the workout I should have done yesterday. I still feel sick and spent just as much time blowing my nose today as I did breathing, but I don’t feel as worn out. I went in late to work today so I did a nine and a half hour day. The extra sleep helped. The patients I didn’t see today will be seen on Saturday (we have a seven day window to see them five times per week). I’ll probably work three hours on Saturday to get them all done.

For my first superset I did 30 lbs less than typical which for today was a good idea. The T-push ups started to hurt my wrist even using the blocks but it was better than using the dumbells. When I do just a push up, the dumbells are fine, but with the T-push up, with the change in center of gravity, that was a bit tough. It didn’t hurt much (not nearly as bad as when doing those front squats) and was no cause to stop doing the exercise.

Someone once told me that these nerve injuries are lifestyle changes. My injury would be similar to a carpel tunnel, but with the radial nerve. I have difficulty changing my lifestyle for an uncooperative nerve.

Superset 2- that bulgarian split squat with overhead press is just plain EVIL. Alwyn, for a moment there, I hated you. Then I remembered I was sick and it wont be so bad next time. With this one my heart rate was over 190 a couple different times and I had to stop and rest before finishing the set. I am just a bit worn out today. No issues with the underhanded lat pulldown for the second half. Did one less resistance than usual, but probably could have gone full resistance because I was doing mixed grip before and underhanded is easier. Biceps baby ;).

The third superset was not a terrible ending. The romanian deadlift/bent over row combo went well. And the sencond half of the superset, the lower body russian twist, I was wondering if I was doing that right. I was unable to straighten my knees fully with my hips bent at 90 degrees so I did my best.

Today I really wanted mcdonalds. So I had the number nine, no mayo add ranch, add swiss. Medium fries, large half diet half regular coke. And I had some starbursts. Then I had my protien shake. And my before bedtime snack was a sucker.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2008 7:01 AM

    Personally, I drink a shake before and after. The before shake is usually about an hour or so prior to the workout. It’s mainly just my second afternoon snack. (I eat every 3 hours.) The protein shake after is for exactly what you said – recovery. Your muscles need to replenish their glycogen stores as well as ensure you’re not losing muscle tissue due to the protein breakdown that occurs during your workout. Glycogen stores are the first source of energy that your muscles use. If you don’t replenish them, you won’t have as much energy for your next workout. And loss in muscle tissue is obviously the opposite of what you want to achieve since muscle is a fat burning machine.

    My husband, a trainer and fitness professional, said however that there has recently been research that indicates a pre-workout shake might have the same effects. Anyway, if you’re interested in more details on this topic of post-workout nutrition, he has an article that describes this a bit more on his website (http://e5fitnessnation.ning.com/page/page/show?id=2368945%3APage%3A702).

    Enjoy!

  2. October 31, 2008 2:08 AM

    Not sure if you got my response to your comment, so I’m posting it here too!

    Of course you can add me to your blogroll, but only if I can add you to mine! I’m glad you’re finding my postings useful/entertaining enough to keep coming back! Let me know if you read anything particularly useful/entertaining, or if there is anything you’d like to see.

  3. October 31, 2008 3:00 AM

    I just wandered over there. Went out for a walk, supper, then my torture chamber ;). Just finished up and getting ready to call it a night.

Leave a Reply

