Skip to content

Protein Powder and Pink Boxing Gloves

October 19, 2008

Most people who lift weights take some sort of supplement. Some people take creatine. I don’t but I haven’t tried it. So maybe it’s good for you, maybe it’s not. The only one I take is whey protien powder. The best way probably to take a protien powder to make it tolerable is to mix it with milk… unless you absolutely abhor milk like I do. So I tried a multitude of different protein powders from various vitamin stores with water. I even tried this cookies and cream one, even tried that with soy milk to see if that would be better. I tried Muscle Milk and it didn’t mix well. Very clumpy, especially with water. I tried Muslce Milk’s Strawberry and cookies’n’cream. I know I tried other brands, just cant remember what their called. But now I’m moving on to GNC strawberry protien powder. I took it with water for the longest time and it certainly wasn’t great but it was better than anything else I’d tried, so I stuck with it. Just recently I decided to mix it with Rasperry Passion (from Minute Maid, sort of like flavored water only 10 cals). It actually tasted GOOD! I was shocked. So I’m a happy person now because I can have my protien shake and not want to puke!

I have pink boxing gloves. They’re not the most comfortable but they’re not fully broken in yet either. The last pair I had were black and were from a martial arts place, Mr. Soto’s. They were comfortable right away. But they treat me well enough. I haven’t broken a knuckle yet. I have a fairly loose routine on my bag. Everything is usually 20 times. I usually warm up with the jab cross, jab hook, or singles of the jab, cross, or hook. sometimes I get bored and do a jab jab cross or jab jab hook or a jab hook jab cross. So bored yet? after I do 20 of something up above then I do a rounhouse kick or if I didn’t do a jab cross I might do a jab cross roundhouse kick or jab cross front snap kick. I alternate for five minutes doing a combo without a kick and then one with a kick. Then I do my “cardio” of the old 1-2 punch as hard as I can, then leg lift block and arm block on left, duck and switch sides, 1-2 punch with right lead, right sided leg lift block with arm block, duck and switch again. I do that 20 times each side and then go back to something not as demanding for two minutes that often includes a kick at some point. I repeat another minute of the “cardio” and two minues of not so strenuous two more times for a total of three times. Then cooling down I don’t usually do anything with a kick but I’ll do the leg lift block technique as I cool down.

No workout today, it’s a recovery day.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 8:04 PM

    You have a nice blog. I do drive to the gym, because it is only five minutes from work and free (otherwise I would have to have a home gym too). I have worked out angry – definite strength-booster for me. Working out distracted, anxious, or frustrated is what kills my day. I’ll think about the pic, too. I guess I should put *something* up to document my progress better anyway. Thanks again for visiting my blog.

  2. October 20, 2008 1:44 AM

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll – I did the same with your site.

  3. Q-Pop permalink
    October 21, 2008 6:38 PM

    http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/proteinshakes.htm

    It really helps with the taste.

  4. Sally permalink
    October 29, 2012 12:18 PM

    I’m like you and don’t like milk and had the hardest time finding a protein powder that actually tasted good! Have you tried making protein shakes with more than just water or milk? I like to mix my protein powder with juice, yogurt, pudding, and sometimes soy or almond milk. Try orange juice and vanilla protein (tastes just like a orange julius) or chocolate protein powder with soy milk, peanut butter and chocolate pudding (tastes like a peanut butter cup!) BlenderBottle has a recipe book with lots of delicious shake and smoothie recipes. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

