Skip to content

Working out in the basement is fun

October 18, 2008

If I tell myself that it’s fun often enough, I’m likely to brainwash myself into beleiving it.

I always feel better after my workout, but I just hate initiating them. Sort of like if I had to build up the desire to DRIVE to a gym, I’d never get there. To think I’d have to spend time getting my stuff, getting in my car, driving somewhere, getting into the gym and changing… just thinking of that makes me want to curl up in a little ball and never work out again. So instead I go with option B, working out in my basement, often in my undies. No time spent preparing to get anywhere, and hey, no additional time needed to change into something that actually covers anything! Though, if I were ever to injure myself and the paramedics would have to come take me out of my basement I’d be really embarrassed about them and all my neighbors seeing me in my skivvies. Maybe I should keep a robe down there…

My workout today went well. Nothing exciting today. I didn’t want to do it, espeically since all I really wanted to do was eat more brownies with fudge frosting stuff on them. So yummy. But I figured I couldn’t even count eating brownies as a bicep curl so I had to drag myself ruthlessly down to that basement. When I finished I, of course, felt so much better for having done it. Today was workout A from the Fat Loss program from New Rules of Lifting. It’s sort of like my bible :). If you don’t have the book, get it. I review a paragraph nearly daily. Sometimes a whole chapter. I love that book. I love that book ALMOST more than The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand. Almost.

I have less than 8 hours before I need to get up to go to work so I probably should get off my butt and off to bed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

