Skip to content

Should I quit my job?

November 15, 2006

Stressed out. Lots of stress. With school, but clinicals are done for now. But when Karma starts lying, I think I should be home more. And I get stressed when she lies. And I dont know that I should be working when I’m stressed at home. And at school. But if I quit my job, then I dont have any money. And that would suck, too. So, what should I do? Think I’ll call and just say I can only work Sundays and if they want, they can just fire me. I think I’ll just call in for this Saturday and see how the day goes. If it goes well, then maybe I just wont go back. Maybe I can work something out with our finances since I only make a couple hundred a month anyway. Two days a week doesnt pay all that well.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    December 5, 2006 6:06 PM

    Post! POST!!

  2. Brynn permalink
    June 5, 2008 6:35 AM

    That does not make any sense. Not the above comment, but the thing we are commenting about.

  3. June 5, 2008 7:04 PM

    if it doesnt make sense, then why are you commenting on it?

  4. cheeto permalink
    February 16, 2009 11:30 AM

    Ooooohhhhhh, I hate those back-up-against-the-wall situations. Too much on your plate, gotta eliminate SOMETHING, but what can go?

    If you can pare down your commitments, do it! Many women do just too much– school, work, kids. Our health is affected, and maybe we’re heading for the grave 10 years too early.

    Take a break. You can always go back to the crazy over-committed schedule if you need to. It will be there waiting for you your whole life. Maybe tell work you need a break, and they’ll hold your position? Just an idea. I’ve been stressing about the same type of situation. I was talking it all over with a girl friend (we’re not extremely close) and she wasn’t giving me any feedback, and I finally said to her “Look, what I really need to hear from you is that it’s ok for me to drop a class. Just give me permission.” She didn’t, and so I decided to take care of myself and give myself permission.

    • February 16, 2009 4:28 PM

      Hi :). This is a post from awhile back. I did quit that job, but not right away. I waited a bit longer and held out till September though during the summer I didn’t work there much. I think that’s from about a year and a half ago if I remember right, which I might not… time is not so linear as I thought it was! I must be getting old!

  5. cheeto permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:20 AM

    Oh!

    I clicked on the link, curious, and thought it was someone writing in who was looking for some feedback, and they just didn’t leave their name. Then thought they wrote post! POST!! because they really needed some feedback, so I posted. Well, glad that stressful period is over for you. I love your site. Thanks so much. You’re very compassionate and caring. Appreciate it!

    • February 17, 2009 7:59 PM

      No prob :). Stress is back with my new degree but my job is not nearly as stressful as when I was a CNA! I’d never wish to go back to CNA work because of the stress. Loved the work, hates the stress.

  6. cheeto permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:36 PM

    Hey, did you graduate with that sonography degree?

    • February 17, 2009 9:51 PM

      No, last time I went I was going for Physical Therapy Assistant. I just started this past August for Sonography- so I’m in that one right now and it’s amazingly difficult! If my first program (therapy) were this difficult, I definitely wouldn’t be going back.

      You’re going for the opposite, occupational therapy, right? I wish I would have gone for OT rather than PT now looking back. More flexibility with scheduling in the nursing home realm.

      I will be quitting physical therapy work in August of this year to focus on school full time. I’ll probably work a weekend here or there though, but overall, my focus will be school. I graduate in May of 2010. I can’t wait! I’m already counting down!

Leave a Reply

