Skip to content

Physical Therapy

October 7, 2006

Today I was performing a treatment on a patient. The patient had a seizure. First time ever seeing that. But that wasn’t so bad. But when it was all over the patient breathed out. And didn’t breathe in right away. In those few seconds, I was concerned… I was maybe even a bit scared. Thankfully said patient did breathe in and all was well again. It just makes me sad to see sometimes how easily life could slip away. Especially watching so many people as they near death. As a CNA, I have never been there for someone’s last moment. And I’m not sure if I’m ready for that. I never thought I’d have that concern in a therapy lab. Not that it deters me at all from therapy, it’s what I want to do for at least a while, but just sort of reminds me that life is frial in all situations.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    October 9, 2006 5:14 AM

    EEK!

    Yeah..when I did my EMT clinicals I did two CPR patients.. one survived.. one didnt(Yes, I was doing it right…). I guess it is different.. I was working the ER… but I definately could see how it is unnerving. If it were someone I knew then I think it would be harder… ((HUG))

Leave a Reply

