Skip to content

My vacation

August 11, 2006

Four days… my only company during the entire trip was my eight year old daughter. Love her, but after four days…

She was actually pretty good the whole time. The last day though, as we’re walking through the shops, she starts telling me about some crazy thing that makes absolutely no sense. One of those things, where the story gets wilder and wilder and she’s attempting to pretend like it’s based in reality. So, I had to tell her that I loved her but after four days, I couldnt handle those kinds of stories right now and to tell me it later.

Two days we spent at Noah’s Arch. Great time both days. Karma absolutely loved it. And spending those first two days with her was great. No misbehaving on her part either. No whining, nothing. After dinner, we found some movies to watch. Cable… so glad I dont have it at home!

Day three was at Wizard Quest and Ripley’s. We wandered to a couple shops. After dinner, back to the hotel and we swam in their pool for a couple hours. Then, me being a mean mom, made Karma do some homework.

Last day, SHOPPING!!! I gave Karma $60 to spend on whatever she wanted. She spent every last penny and $7 of her own money. After we spent all the money we both had (okay, I had 15 left!), then we headed over to the car and drove to visit my birthdaughter and her new little brother! He’s such a cutie. He’s a wiggle worm though :). We spent about an hour and a half there. I didn’t think we’d stay that long, didn’t expect to, but Karma and Kara were playing together and it was just too cute. Karma says soon the little guy will be big enough to play with, too. Think she’s got a bit of waiting to do!

The drive home (including the detour to see Kara and her family) took less time than the drive to the Dells. A detour on the way there from road construction added an entire hour onto the drive down! I was cranky! We planned to get there at noon, instead, it was a bit after one. And we only made one ten minute stop! The drive to their house took a bit less than an hour an a half, from there to home, again, bit less than an hour and a half. Drive there… all in one loooooong ride with no decent stops… bit more than three hours! ARG!

Karma thankfully didn’t get a sunburn, but mine was so bad the second night that I could barely sleep! It hurt to lay on my side, my other side, or my stomach. And I cant fall asleep on my back. So, it was a difficult night!

Anyway, now I’m home and unpacked and tomorrow I’m going to take another day of vacation :). I’m bringing Karma to see Monster House tomorrow. She doesn’t know it yet, nice suprise for her tomorrow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    August 11, 2006 4:17 PM

    Then in a few weeks you can take another vacation and come to Chicago….. *giant grin*

    Glad you had a great time!!!!

  2. August 11, 2006 9:19 PM

    It’s been WAY to damn long since I last saw you IRL! Move closer damn it! Cant wait to visit you in Chicago though :).

  3. Christine permalink
    August 11, 2006 11:32 PM

    So do you think you will really be able to come, then??? Huh, huh, huh?? I know… I need to be closer!!!

  4. August 12, 2006 12:04 AM

    If I have to work on Friday, it’ll likely be till 10 am and I can drive down as soon as I change my clothes.

    If I dont have to work Friday, I might drive down Thursday night instead and spend the night there someplace. I’ll have Karma with me either way though, so no partying even if I can make it on Thursday :(.

    Email me those dates you’ll be there (probably again). I cant remember if I had them and then deleted the email or what the heck I did. Or maybe you posted it in the webgroup. I misremember :).

  5. Christine permalink
    August 12, 2006 4:10 PM

    Well I have Chem Lab on Thursday night so I cant leave until Friday morning. It will be the first through the 4th…. Ill be in as early as possible on the 1st, Ill have my tickets wednesday with an exact time. I do need to have a meeting but can do it first thing in the AM and be done with it quickly.. Im sure my office will be within walking distance from the hotel.

  6. Christine permalink
    August 16, 2006 7:14 PM

    Ok Ill be in Chicago at 530 AM Friday.. and I will have Aurora… What do you think of doing the American Girl Store? Will you be able to afford that? If not… which museum shall we choose?

Leave a Reply

