Skip to content

Pro-Life and the Death Penalty.

July 20, 2006

I was listening to WPR this morning (big suprise there, eh) and they were interveiwing a lady who is pro-life. A caller called and asked if the lady was for or against the death penalty and said if she was for the death penalty but against abortion, then whe was a hypocrite.

I disagree with the caller. I think someone who is pro-life can easily be pro-death penalty. The logic in that is that the unborn baby is an innocent life (so far) and the person about to be killed on the chair (oh wait, it’s a needle now isn’t it) is NOT an innocent life.

And what that all leads to is how I (see, all about me) am pro- CHOICE and anti-death penalty.
You may wonder, how the hell does that happen? Well am I a hypocrite because I believe in death for a fetus but not death for an “evil do-er” (Bushism there). Well, if you think I’m a hypocrite for that, fine. Be that way ;).
I think that abortion should be legal up to the point where the fetus can live without life support. Until a fetus can sustain life without either the life support of the woman carrying it or of a machine, I don’t believe it to be a fully formed life form. In essence, a life hooked to a machine (or a woman) is no life at all. However and “evil do-er” can support it’s own life. Evil do-er’s breathe on their own, their heart beats on it’s own. Course the fetus and the evil do-er both need food and air and shelter, but the fetus can not breathe on it’s own even if we provide it air until a certain point in it’s development.

Besides, when we say yes to the death penalty, prison terms for even minor crimes increase in duration. Do we really want non-voilent offenders sitting in jail or prison with hardened criminals? I think not. So saying yes to the death penalty is in essence saying yes to the further breeding of criminals.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    July 20, 2006 11:55 PM

    I agree with you 100%. Ok.. not this part… ROFL – “A caller called and asked if the lady was for or against the death penalty and said if she was for the death penalty but against adoption, then whe was a hypocrite.”

  2. July 21, 2006 12:20 AM

    Is the disagreement due to the smelling error (hehe, spelling, one letter off, smelling… whe and she… oops!)

    And Damn it! It’s supposed to be abortion and I typed adoption. Where the hell did I put my head!

  3. Christine permalink
    July 21, 2006 5:49 PM

    No it was the adoption thing.. boy was I giggling..

  4. Jerry permalink
    July 19, 2008 5:57 AM

    It’s consistent to be against abortion and for the death penalty because the unborn are innocent. But I’m against the death penalty anyway. Jesus told us to love our enemies, not kill them. I’m also against euthanasia and war for any reason under any circumstances.

  5. October 18, 2008 3:46 AM

    Jerry, I agree that what you said is consistent. My view is much less common, being pro-choice but yet being against the death penalty.

  6. Ashley permalink
    December 2, 2008 8:12 AM

    I disagree. I think that just because you feel that an unborn baby is “not a real life” isn’t a good reason to get an abortion. Those unborn babies have finger nails, and they can blink their eyes, and they move. It is the mothers job to care for their unborn babies. Not to kill them. If they didnt want to have a baby then they shouldn’t have put themselves in the position to get preganant. I think the only time abortion is acceptable is if the women has been raped because then it was not her choice to get pregnant or to be in that situation.

  7. Michelle permalink*
    December 2, 2008 9:55 AM

    Ashley, I would never personally get an abortion. But I don’t think I should be allowed to make that choice for any other woman. In a perfect world, people who didn’t want to get pregnant would avoid sex. But hell, I’m not perfect. And I have a daughter being raised by another family because my choice was to place for adoption rather than to abort the pregnancy. Mypersonal feelings on the fetus being a sustainable or non-sustainable life didn’t matter because I wanted the child to be born.

    Anyway, we’re all entitled to our opinions and you’re opinion is definitely more popular than mine, particularly when throwing the death penalty in there and me being against that.

Leave a Reply

